The Night of the Doctor

I realized that I had jumped the gun a bit by planning to talk about season 8. I hadn’t talked about the amazing things that came out of the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who.

This is an amazing mini-episode that the BBC posted to YouTube as a prequel to the big show. It takes place during the Time War and gives us an idea of how far the impact has spread. It also shows how much the Doctor has been trying to avoid being involved. But, possibly the point of the whole episode, it also gives us the Eighth Doctor’s regeneration into the War Doctor.

Just like most of the Current, or 21st Century, Doctor Who, the more of the Classic, or 20th Century, Doctor Who I watch, the more I get and fully understand. I always figured that Karn was a 20th Century reference, but now I can realize the genius of bringing it into things. Also, seeing Paul McGann get more screen time is always a good thing. Every time I watch it, I get so excited that the Eighth Doctor is there to try to save Cass. Also, the in-cannon regonizing his Big Finish companions was wonderful. I haven’t had the chance to listen to them yet, but Charlie is pretty well-known as an Eighth Doctor companion. They really gave the Eighth Doctor on-screen respect.

But my true squee moment happens at the end. Seeing that reflection of a young John Hurt makes me squee every time. It’s just an amazing way of introducing him and the War Doctor. I love it!

Leave a Reply

